TOTO MS853113S Ultramax 1.6 GPF One Piece Round Toilet With Softclose Seat Reviews

5.00
Buy now for: $448.34 Buy Now

All reviews for this item:

Honey Doll Ardmore, PA 2007-11-19
Rating:
5

Toto Rocks!

I already had a Toto toilet and bought two more [...]. They are easy to install (did it myself), quiet, water efficient and look great. I have one in every bathroom. One problem that arose after I installed the first toilet was the valve system in the tank was leaking and it was determined that my high water pressure was causing it. Toto recommends about 45-50 psi and mine is 85-90 psi. I am in the process of getting a plumber out to install a regulator so I can dial back my pressure. A small price to pay for great product.

Top Breaker Brooklyn, NY 2007-11-19
Rating:
3

Disappointed

The tank top is very poorly designed. Rather than fitting on top of the tank, it is affixed by velcro. I didn't know about the velcro the first time I lifted it and it fell off and broke! Although we like the look and the specs, we probably won't be buying a Toto for our master bathroom.

Maddie Little Rock, AR 2007-11-25
Rating:
4

very pleased

So far, so good. Several plumbers tried to talk me out of a Toto toilet. But, after 2 weeks use, I am agreeing with the positive research I personally found. For a high end product with such a good reputation, I am suprised that the toilet seat lid (slow close) is such light weight plastic. I expected it to be more substantial. I love the one-piece design - easy to clean, and looks good.

Michele Crystal Lake, Il 2009-10-19
Rating:
4

Good to the last flush

so far I am very pleased with this product...we have not had one problem with a pluged toilet since I got it.

Peggy WV 2009-10-21
Rating:
5

Love our new Toto!

I was a little skeptical about ordering a new toilet on-line to replace our 56 year old one but we needed to find a small toilet that would work in our small bathroom. I'm glad we did - I love everything about it - small size and very quiet, and, it was very easy to install. [...] In the future, I will be replacing the other two toilets in my home with a Toto!

Fordman Ypsilanti, MI 2009-10-29
Rating:
5

Great Toilet

[...] was exactly what I wanted at a good price. I would definitely buy from them again.

Amy Annandale, VA 2009-11-06
Rating:
5

Love our Totos [...]

This Toto model is great for the small bathroom. [...] As of now we have only installed the toilets, [...] I would definitely purchase other products here again.

BobnMarge Pacific Palisades, CA 2007-12-17
Rating:
5

Toto Solution

Finally, got a toilet that actually flushes all of the waste in one flush. Meets all of our expectations. Great value.

Darryl Oklahoma City 2009-12-25
Rating:
5

Nice Product

My plumber installed 90 dollars

Susie Cute El Paso TX 2010-01-05
Rating:
4

Great product

I've just purchased my fourth TOTO Ultramax. I bought the first two in 2007 for the master bath and a hallway bath. I had a plumber do the installation, so I don't know how difficult they are to install. But I do know that they work very well--I've had no trouble with either of them. In spite of the fact that they are low water users, I can't remember ever having to flush a second time to get the job finished. I've just purchased two more because I'm replacing the flooring in the two guest baths and it gives me a good excuse to change out the old toilets.

Picky Shopper Houston, Texas 2008-01-02
Rating:
4

Really works!

This is a good looking little toilet. It really does flush VERY well, and FAST! It's also quiet. I bought this particular toilet because I wanted one that would not need to be flushed more than once. And this TOTO does that. We discovered that if you flush and let go of the handle, it will only use 1/2 of the tank. If you flush and hold the handle, it will use the entire tank. Great water saver! The only 'con' is the fact that the bowl, like a lot of european toilets, does not have enough water in it to keep "stuff" from sometimes sticking to it.

Bill Modesto,CA 2010-01-13
Rating:
5

A well mannered throne that works great!

This Toto looks great. It is small to fit a small space but it is not small in comfort. It is quiet, effecient and affordable.

Chunkylover53 St Louis, MO 2010-02-02
Rating:
5

I wouldn't buy anything else

I have been using the same toilet in the elongated version in my master bath for four years with no problems so I bought this one to replace a failing toilet in the kids' bathroom a few weeks ago. My five year old did manage to clog it once already with half a roll of toilet paper, but I don't think it was the toilet's fault. After a quick plunging everything was fine. It's a little wide around the mid-section so there isn't as much room for a trashcan between the toilet and the cabinet now, but on the plus side the wide ridge makes it easier to carry. I really like the one-piece design in general. Having one less spot for a leak to develop is a plus. It's heavier since you can't carry the pieces separately but once you get it in you'll be happy.

Capitol Hill Owner Washington, DC 2008-01-19
Rating:
5

Well Worth It!

The toilet really performs to the levels I had read about prior to purchasing. It has changed the restroom experience from one of doubt, to one of certainty. I am left only wishing other purchases were as much of a slam dunk!

Henchman La Verne, CA 2008-01-21
Rating:
5

Quality Product

Product came with very good instructions and was easy to install.

Dave New Jersey 2008-02-04
Rating:
5

I want to replace all of my toilets now

The kids love the soft close seat cover.

Matt Sykesville, MD 2008-02-04
Rating:
5

Does what it says it will

I use it in the foyer bath. I love the soft close toilet seat and the fact that everything goes down with one flush.

HG LA 2010-03-08
Rating:
5

Best Internet Buy Ever.

We've used it for about a month, and have not needed a second flush, even with large loads. It's amazing to us since we were used to a lot of water coming down in our old toilet, and it takes some getting used to believing that the very short flushing cycle does the job. But it does.As for the soft-close seat, that's also nice feature, but we wonder how our guests, who have no clue, will respond to it. So far, no one has asked about it, so perhaps they are coping.The purchase was also absolutely painless,[...]I installed it in about an hour, all by myself, except for lifting it onto the floor bolts, for which I had help so I wouldn't damage the wax ring.

Joey Ramone Salinas, CA 2008-02-11
Rating:
5

Well-made and worth the money

Easy to install and very nice design. Everyone loves the soft-close seat. Flushing is quick and powerful and the tank refills quickly too. Great value for the money when compared to Kohler. Highly recommended.

Tom Erie, PA 2008-02-18
Rating:
5

Toto continues to impress

I recently sold our house, and after we moved into our new home - I wished I had my old toto toilet. The model that I had at the old house is no longer made, so I bought an ultramax thinking it hade the same flush mechanism as my old toto. It does not have the same flush - it is better then my old toto which I thought was the best toilet I ever owned. The ultramax is fantastic! I do wish that I had bought the elongated seat, the round seat is a little small.

shopper boston, MA 2010-04-08
Rating:
4

Toto toilets are the best!

very good performance toilet. I love the design too.

Lohn Jennon St. Charles, IL 2010-05-11
Rating:
5

Swift like an arrow, silent like a snake

Sometimes you just have to get off your Toto and do something. People were waiting in line at my house just for a chance to see it.

Anna D. Arlington Heights, IL 2010-06-10
Rating:
5

I would purchase this toilet again!

We love this toilet! Toto does make a great toilet. I dont have any more problems with a clog toilet. I am going to replace all the other toilets with this model. Great product and priceline as well.

Bay Area Rocks New Baltimore, MI 2008-03-11
Rating:
5

The Ultramax is the Ultimate

The UltraMax is the ultimate, throw away your plunger after installing this model, this is the third one I have purchased, I wouldn't buy anything else. The included seat is comfortable, and you will never hear it slam down due to the unique slow-close design.Easy installation, good documentation[...] no problems at all.

pete san mateo ca 2008-03-24
Rating:
5

toto toylet

water efficient.

Didi Pacific Palisades, CA 2010-09-20
Rating:
4

So far so good!

The Toto toilets look beautiful with clean, sleek lines and they're comfortable although we notice that the seats slide from side to side a little which is a little uncomfortable. But we love that they don't use as much water as our old toilets. We're looking forward to lower water bills.

Bob Edmond, OK 2010-10-15
Rating:
5

This is my second purchase of this item

This is the second Toto one piece toilet that I have purchased. Ease of installation, stylish design, and years of trouble free service are the reasons that I purchased my second Toto any why I would highly recommend to anyone considering building or remodeling a bathroom.

antiquer morro bay,ca 2010-11-23
Rating:
5

great toilet/now replaced3

good product little on the pricer site,but love it

Antonie New York 2010-11-30
Rating:
5

I would buy this product again

[...]

A straight flush beats a full house Philadelphia, PA 2010-12-05
Rating:
4

Product as expected

Although this product costs a little more than most, you get a quality toilet which has a powerful flush. I had read an earlier review which said it is loud, but I don't think it is much (if any) louder than a conventional toilet. Because of a tight space, I needed a round bowl, and was happy to find that the dimensions of this one are a little larger (both length and height of bowl) than I previously had. I wish the flush lever wasn't chrome, but I guess it still looks o.k.

Harvey Malvern PA 2010-12-18
Rating:
5

Favorite technology of the 21st century!

This was a replacement for a powder-room toilet with a history of clogging, leaking and overflowing. The new Toto Ultramax One-Piece toilet is so amazing — flushes quietly, very quickly, and completely, with only 1.6 gallons — that I tell my guests to go watch it in action. The unit is small-scaled because it doesn't need a big tank. The softclose seat is an added bonus. I expect to buy two more of these for upstairs. Highly recommended!

cj the sailor Mountain View, CA 2008-04-25
Rating:
5

Excellent toilet!

I've been struggling with toilets that don't work right the entire 10 years I've owned my house. I should have bought these years ago!

camille brooklyn NY 2011-02-04
Rating:
5

Terrific !!!and yes it's only a toilet!

[...]

BILL OHIO 2011-02-09
Rating:
5

I WOULD BUY AGAIN

LOVE IT SO FAR

Cheri Los Alamos, NM 2011-03-19
Rating:
2

Round Softclose Seat may disappoint

Uncomfortable seat with too much play and movement. I bought two round Ultramax with Softclose seats for my new residence; having previously purchased four Toto elongated ultramax toliets six years ago for another home. I "loved" those toliets! However this time the toilet seats seemed horrid in comparison. The rest of the toliet still functions beautifully! The SoftClose does the job it promises (closes softly), but the feel is 'cheap plastic', very uncomfortable, and not the solid high-impact feel I had before. Also these seats and lid slide about with the slightest movement. Yes, the screws on the seat are firmly in place and secure, it is the gap area on the seat hinges that allow this play, slipping side to side. The seat itself slopes inward a bit too much and can pinch which the other Toto Softclose seats I had experienced didn't do. Not happy about that! May have to replce the seat to get the comfort and secure feel I'm looking for. Otherwise I am sold on the performance of T

Chris the Mom Bowie, MD 2011-03-22
Rating:
5

Bye-bye plunger...BEST toilet ever!

I did my homework before buying our first TOTO Ultramax toilet...this purchase was our second of this model. We've had the first one for three years and have never had a clog...EVER! Our previous toilets required frequent plunging to clear clogs. The TOTO toilet is fast, effective, and efficient! The sleek design looks great...so much smaller than the big old clunker it replaced, and the one-piece design makes cleaning a breeze...way fewer cracks and crevaces to clean! I LOVE THIS TOILET!

Lori the doityourselfer Clearwater,FL. 2008-05-07
Rating:
5

THE BEST EVER!!!

I have a 60 year old house with 60 year old plumbing.When the toilet needed replacing I began an indepth search for the best toilet on the market.I found it with this one.Easy to install,I did it myself and I am an independent female,and the possibility of clogs has vanished. Don't look any further.If you want style, ease and no clogging,TOTO Ultramax is your answer. I HIGHLY recommend it!

Dillpot Dingleweed Wayland, MA 2011-03-28
Rating:
5

Two New Toto Toilets

Love my two new Toto toilets, which replaced an upstairs toilet that had to be flushed by pouring a bucket of water down it and a downstairs toilet that ran incessantly. I got the Totos because they were highly recommended online by others (including plumbers). They get the job done—wonderful to rejoin the 21st century with working toilets! The sleek one-piece design makes cleaning easy, and we like the soft-close seat. The only thing I can't say is that it's a quiet flush. Totos are not the cheapest toilets, but they seem to get the best reviews, therfore this "budget shopper" thinks they're a bargain. Buying them from HomeClick was definitely a good idea; they had the best prices[...]

Katie B. Massachusetts 2011-04-13
Rating:
4

Fits the location, and works well

The 26 year old toilet in our second full bath had become a 7 gallon toilet (needed 2 flushes @ 3.5 gallons each) and I decided to replace it. The bathroom is small, and the toilet is situated opposite the stall shower, which has a door, so the replacement needed to be small enough front to back so that the shower door can be opened. Not too many models that had decent reviews would have fit, but this one does. It also works very well, flushes strongly and completely. It's not quite as effective as the Kohler Wellworth that I recently had installed in our half bath, but the Kohler wouldn't have fit in the space. On the whole, I am quite pleased.

Lib Ormond Beach, Fl. 2011-05-05
Rating:
4

Honest example.

Seems very efficient, I would purchase it again, only with an oval seat instead of a round one.

The plumber of the house Minneapolis, MN 2008-05-23
Rating:
5

Easy to install and works great.

teenagers' bathroom

RD Oceanside,ca. 2008-05-26
Rating:
5

what can I say, great working toilet

Easy to install and works right every time,no more plunging,yea.

SoontobeEmptyNester Edgerton, WI 2011-06-30
Rating:
5

Excatly as advertised!

[...]

Victorian Owner Boston, Ma. 2008-05-30
Rating:
5

Great product, highly recommend

Used this in a small half bath and it was perfect for the small space. It is quiet, flushes very well, takes very little water to fill and fills quickly. I would highly recommend this product.

Tom Stroudsburg, PA 2011-09-29
Rating:
5

Fabulous, at a decent price!

A great toilet, easy to clean (aka 3 boys living at home). The seat closes slowly, unlike the often heard Bang! with our last toilet seat. Very happy and satisfied.

Bronx Bomber Bronx, NY 2011-10-13
Rating:
4

Great design, unimpressive flushing

I replaced a 1.5 gallon two piece Crane toilet from 1996 and was expecting a big difference in flushing power and noise. In fact, there was little to no difference. The only major noticeable difference is that the Toto flushes much quicker. You'd think slightly more water dropping quickly would equate with more flushing power, but it just doesn't. The design is great; the only major flaw is the tank lid being held on by velcro, which sheds plastic hooks and loops every time it's opened. Overall, I'm pleased with the purchase, but expectations were high and not necessarily met.

Sunriverat Sunriver, OR 2008-06-24
Rating:
5

Every Bit as Good as Advertised

Replaced a high-end American made product that clogged causing $15000 of damage to the house. This is a superior engineered product that will not clog. Soft close seat is great. Totally satisfied.

Roadrunner Lincoln, RI 2011-12-13
Rating:
5

My new toilet i love it

answers in "pros"

Freddo Washington, DC 2011-12-28
Rating:
5

Excellent Service, Excellent Product

Toto consistently delivers a superior product -- high quality, excellent flush, easy cleaning, especially with the sani-gloss finish. Homeclick makes Toto shopping a breeze by having a user-friendly Web site, excellent filters to find the best product.

Naps Meriden CT 2012-06-25
Rating:
5

Fast shipping and great product!

Works great and easy install!

Home improvement addict Galesburg, Illinois 2008-09-10
Rating:
5

Just Love It

This product exceedes the reviews,will be buying another one soon.Quiet and efficient

Mountain Lady Colorado 2013-04-03
Rating:
5

Nice merchandise but shipping was a mess

This is a very nice albeit expensive toilet and you do get what you pay for. It looks nice and works perfectly. Beware though - make sure you get the CORRECT shipper as we had a big mess. Homeclick told us one shipper - then changed it without notifying us and we couldn't track it and could not be available for delivery. I am not happy with Homeclick about this and will look at other companies in the future to work with.

Roy Stafford, VA 2013-05-25
Rating:
5

I like this toilet

I really like this toilet. It flushes well and since it has no separate tank it is less prone to problems.

Toto lover Los Angeles, CA 2008-09-19
Rating:
5

Toto the best toilet

I have purchased my first Toto toilet, 5 years ago and is working flawless. This determined me to purchased another three toilets for my four unit apartment building. The quality of the product is excellent with a powerful siphon jet flushing action, water efficient, only 1.6 gallon per flash and a soft close seat, that you can not find in the more expensive toilets. [...] In all was a nice experience.

Rick New Berlin Wi 2013-09-09
Rating:
5

Great toilet, recommanded by plumber.

Took over a week to get from New Jersey to Wisconsin.

Six of Us Texas 2013-12-12
Rating:
5

Best Toilet

This is truly the best toilet.

Big I Chicago IL 2014-03-12
Rating:
5

Quiete powerful looks good.

very often

Mamacita Texas 2007-08-01
Rating:
5

It's as good as everyone said it was!

I had never seen one of these fixtures in 'real life', but I ordered one based on the favorable online reviews. It seems kind of weird to be excited about a toilet, but I love it! It works as well as I had hoped and it looks great in my new bathroom.

retired seattle,wa. 2009-01-14
Rating:
4

toto toilet

nice looking. seems efficient

I the Shopper Brooklyn, NY 2009-01-19
Rating:
5

excellent product

compact & efficient

Kanda San Jose, CA 2007-09-01
Rating:
5

I've purchased 3 of these

On the advice of my sister (who had purchased one of these Ultramax Toto toilets), I purchased two toilets when I renovated my bathrooms. I couldn't be more pleased. When you flush, everything goes the first time. No need to flush again. I was so impressed with this product that when I needed to replace another toilet in a high rise condo, I purchased a 3rd. The soft-close seat is a bonus.

powderice Louisville, CO 2009-01-27
Rating:
5

The best toilet, best price

[...]

SID NYC 2009-02-15
Rating:
5

Great tiolet

Put away the plunger. I purchase a Toto a few years ago,it works so well I bought another one for my small bath. I had Amer Standard and it clogged all the time. We need to flush in small batches. Also, the Toto seems to fill much faster. [...] I highly recommend Toto toilets and HC.

villager nyc 2007-10-02
Rating:
5

love it!

Replaced a Kohler that drove us all crazy (clogging, etc) and we couldn't be happier.

Narge ca 2007-10-07
Rating:
5

The only brand toilet to buy

Why anyone would waste their money on another brand is beyond me. We bought these for a vacation home after having them in our own home. They work great.

Jirobi Washington DC 2007-10-10
Rating:
4

So far so good

So far this toilet is working great. Flushes really well. The true test will be when my son comes home from college and starts using it!

Will Gainesville,VA 2009-08-19
Rating:
5

A great product

Would definitely buy another.

jim Omaha 2009-08-25
Rating:
5

Toto's are the BEST

Works great