Save 8% and Free Ground Shipping on orders over $99

American Standard 7225.733 Hampton 3 Handle Bath / Shower Faucet With Metal Lever Handles Reviews

3.00
Buy now for: $248.30 Buy Now

All reviews for this item:

Mimi Monroe, NC 2011-12-01
Rating:
4

Hampton 3 - Handle Bath / Shower Faucet

I love the brushed nickel Hampton 3 - Handle Bath / Shower Faucet with Metal Lever Handles - 7225.733 by American Standard. The extra money was worthwhile to upgrade to brushed nickel. Service and delivery were good. Remember to order/change the stopper in the tub (if applicable) to mach the other components.

Sue Atlanta 2008-07-07
Rating:
5

This is exactly what I wanted

There are very few 3 handle tub & shower sets available. Fortunately, you have this one that fits just about any decor.

Stan4694 Baltimore MD 2014-06-12
Rating:
1

Poor Design

The transfer valve (tub spout to shower head handle) is a HORRIBLE design. As one of the other reviews posted. The handle is easily over rotated causing the cartridge to strip out internally. Brand new install and I had to spend an entire day running around looking for a local supplier that had this valve ($40) After replacing still the same problem so we just leave the handle in the shower position so we don't have to rotate the handle as often.

jb in the 'ville Louisville, KY 2010-07-13
Rating:
1

Think again; you will not be happy!

I was happy to find a three handle shower faucet in bronze, and was willing to pay a little more for such a product, but was extremely disappointed with the quality of this product. Installation was fairly straight forward, but the escutcheons (handle surrounds) are plastic. The very first use resulted in a leaking (broken) cartridge. Visiting the website to order repair parts. Buyer beware!

Anonymous Rochester, NY 2010-12-21
Rating:
4

Relatively Good Quality, Some Weak Parts

We have the porcelain handles on our Hampton bath sink and shower faucets. They're very nice looking and solid, although we've had two issues. First, one of the faucet handles in the shower kept coming loose. After repeated tightenings I finally put a weak form of Loc-tite on the threads and it's stayed tight ever since. Second, one of the shower handle adapters has broken meaning that we can't switch from bath spout to shower head. It's been 4-5 years since we installed the faucet so that's not bad, but the design appears to be weak (small area, soft material) where it goes into the faucet handle so I expect more failures. Overall, pretty happy with the faucet, though given the price I'd hope to be.

achassell Santa Fe, NM, United States 2014-04-13
Rating:
1

Bad!

On installation, I broke all 3 valves by "over-tightening" and had to replace them. The transfer valve (center) is the big problem. The design is laughably poor and the slightest force past the operational turn range breaks it. If there were a clear stopping point that might be ok, but it does not turn smoothly and one must apply some force near the shower end of the range. The handles flop around, the set points don't really align, parts that should be metal are actually plastic, and the whole thing feels cheap. We have been using this set for two weeks now. I have already had to remove and fix the transfer valve and we don't dare use it now - just keeping it on shower until we decide what to do. Have emailed AS to ask if there's an upgrade valve, but doubt there is. If not, we'll have to replace the whole unit, and it won't be with an American Standard product. We've been happy with the Delta faucets we chose for the other bathroom and won't make this mistake again. The most unbelie

Jenna426 Houston, TX 2013-08-23
Rating:
1

Dissapointed

I should have read the reviews about this faucet before I purchased this. It is very expensive for it to be defective, it leaks from the hot water valve, the plumber installed it, and leaked heavily. The plumber came back to replace the cartridge that he thought would help. IT DID NOT. Can't tear the bathroom tile now to return, the whole ordeal has been a nightmare, now I have a leaky faucet and out 250.00 plus plumber. DON'T BUY this product.

Dianawed Brownstown, Michigan 2013-07-27
Rating:
1

Disappointed

Very disappointed, this wasnt a cheap purchase and Iwas surprised by the amount of plastic. Im here now to order a replacement adapter, it never fit in properly and is now stripped. this is the 2nd fix for this faucet and it's only 2 months installed : (.

George San Antonio, Texas 2011-07-04
Rating:
4

Good product; Care when installing;

Pros: I was excited to get the product for the price. Product is generally sturdy and made of good metal materials. So, I am expecting a long working piece of plumbing.I would recommend getting a good carpenter or plumber to perform the install. Our install required sweating copper tubing from the existing water lines to the new main housing.Ensure your installation are to the spec's provided in the manual (I cannot stress this enough). We double checked our measurement and had to make some minor adjustments to the depth of the housing just before installing the backer-board and tiling the bath area. Additionally, perform water testing to verify no leaks exist (again before putting on backer-board, etc.)Leave the threading covers on until ready to install the handles. The Outside Diameter of the covers shows how much tile spacing will be needed in order to allow the plastic wall coverings to fit correctly and yet cover the openings perfectly.Cons: Gap between handles and bath tile wal

Bob the DIY-er Reston, VA 2008-11-13
Rating:
4

All-Around Wonderful Product

This is a great product. If I could have, I would have given it 4.8 stars. I only found two flaws. First, it has a normal, US-type, low-flow shower head (which I replaced because I couldn't figure out how to remove the flow restrictor). Second, the instructions were fantastic but were missing the required distance from the face of the dry wall to the mounting screws. It's not too difficult to figure the dimension out from all the other numbers given, but it would have saved some time to have it specified right on the plans in the first place. I strongly recommend this faucet. It looks wonderful and works even better.

Anonymous North Carolina 2012-04-11
Rating:
5

Great set

When first installed, the shower dripped. I checked the cartridges & they were pretty "dried out" from age....guessed the set had been on the shelf at the store too long. AS sent me new cartridges & all is well. The best part about this product is that AS stands behind it and will work to take care of the customer!!! This company has always been a great company to buy from because they actually make sure that their product is the best!

Anonymous DC 2011-06-20
Rating:
5

As advertised

Had plummer install...no issues works great. Good price.

Anonymous Ozark, AL 2013-08-01
Rating:
1

Buy extra transfer valves

Replacing the transfer valve for the third time. Mechanically poor design since the slightest turn past the stopping point will result in a transfer valve needing to be replaced. Now I need a new handle for the transver valve and can't find one. Don't buy this product. I like American Standard products - but not this one.

chris13 seattle 2013-07-16
Rating:
2

MIxed Feelings

As has been mentioned above, the escutcheons are all plastic.  As the box calls this “chromeâ€?, and as this is an expensive item, I was surprised and unhappy.  Unfortunately, I didn’t notice this until I had installed the faucet behind my $1000 tile job.    Also, the ceramic cartridge has broken on one of the faucets. It is supposed to be a lifetime feature.  As least tech support is on the ball and is sending me a replacement.    

Philly row Philadelphia,pa 2009-10-09
Rating:
4

Very nice set

Nice set, I have an older home and had to modify the stem (cut off about a 1/4") because my wall was too thick with the 2" of cement backer they used to use and the knobs would not thread on. Worked fine after words, and look very nice.

minn. fixer-upper Avon, Ohio 2010-04-29
Rating:
5

Very happy with our purchase!

The replacement faucets for our tub were exactly what we wanted - and the price was great compared to what else we were able to find. We had a plumber install them and he, too, agreed that we had found the "perfect" solution to replacing our old faucets.

kcohee phila, pa 2009-04-12
Rating:
5

awesome

used a plumber to install, but worked great. love the look of the product.

andyismarine dyersburg tn 2012-03-23
Rating:
5

Very nice, easy to install

well worth the price. I needed to have the three seperate handles and wanted all ceramic seals this did the trick.

Gunns Philadelphia, PA 2008-11-30
Rating:
4

Sturdy construction, detailed directions

Great looking product. Had trouble leveling spout. It was sloped uphill.

AZDayne Prescott, AZ 2009-08-05
Rating:
4

Amer Stan Tub/Shower Faucet

This was a replacement for a family bath that we are upgrading. Seems fine.

Jason the mason Seattle, WA 2011-01-11
Rating:
1

Never Again - but I'm stuck

The installation was easy, but from there it's all downhill. The handles stripped within 6 months. I tried to order parts online, but they don't offer them. When I went to a distributor, they told me to call American Standard. American Standard tech wanted me to send them the parts, all I wanted was a replacement. Now, the cross-handle version of the Heritage line is not available. I'm still trying to get something that will work with the AS faucet body.