American Standard 2461.102 Cambridge 5' Americast Bathtub With Grab Bar Drillings And Right Hand Drain Outlet Reviews

4.00
Buy now for: $536.90 Buy Now

All reviews for this item:

Anonymous Canada 2010-09-14
Rating:
5

Best tub I have ever had!

Tub is deep and has a recessed back for relaxing and is very comfortable. Non slip very good. Follow cleaning instructions and you will have no problems. Less offgassing with enamel tubs.

Homeimprovement New Jersey 2014-02-03
Rating:
3

Good but it creaks

We bought this tub a year ago and installed it. We loved it for awhile until it started making this annoying creaking sound when getting in and out of the tub. Would not use this tub again. If you have an old house do not buy this.

Rainman100 PA 2013-09-10
Rating:
1

Once good

I am sure this was once a good tub. HOWEVER, THE TUB WAS IN PLACE AND IN GOOD CONDITION when we bought our house, but have watched the rust develop all over the bath in the past 18 months. Due to us not being the original owner we are now stuck. We have nice finishings in the bathroom and in order to replace have to do a full renovation. Not good enough.

Fix It Girl Baltimore, MD 2010-06-30
Rating:
5

OMG! What a great find!

I remodeledthe master bath of my 90 year-old home. I wanted a vintage tub, but a clawfoot tubs was out of my budget. After looking at every tub ever made, I thought I'd look at American Standard. I actually found this tub by accident - I thought I was looking for one model, but found this one instead. It had all of the features I was looking for, and it looks great in my small vintage bath. Aside from making sure the tub was level and adjusting the plumbing, my contractor had little difficulty in installing the tub. Hot water stays heated longer than my old tub, and it's easy to clean.

Yolanda Trenton, New Jersey 2010-09-17
Rating:
5

Wonderful tub!

We wanted a tub to replace our 84-year-old cast-iron tub. We replaced the old bathroom entirely, but wanted it to look like it fit in the old house: not too modern. We also did not want acrylic. This tub is perfect. The Americast feels like cast iron without the weight, and we like the porcelain surface. Also, we wanted a comfortable tub that you can soak in, and we wanted it to hold a lot of water. The slope on the end of this is very, very comfortable, which is not true of most tubs, and the water capacity is greater than most; the sides of the tub are higher than average. If you're replacing an old bathroom but don't want the cutsey clawfoot type, get this one!

Anonymous Syracuse NY 2011-03-02
Rating:
2

Horrible to install

This tub looks great. Don't know how durable it is, we already have a small scratch up by the overflow and we were very careful with install. Also the whole tub was crooked and we ended up calling in a professional to install. The pro had a horrible time with trying to get tub level and just couldn't believe it. Would not buy this tub again.

bookfreak Michigan 2011-04-01
Rating:
5

A beautiful tub in its own right!

We were remodeling two, second-story bathrooms, and needed 5' tubs not wider than 32" to replace the old fixtures. Both of us like clean, simple lines in our home; the less embellishment, the better. So many tubs now have lots of molding details on the aprons, which we didn't want. I did extensive research and felt that an Americast tub would be perfect--porcelain finish but much less weight--and the Cambridge design was exactly to our taste. The tubs arrived without damage (GOOD packaging), and our plumber is very impressed with them. He hadn't seen an Americast tub before, but loved the lighter weight, the quality of the finish and the ease of installation. Americast tubs are an excellent alternative to cast iron, but I wouldn't think of them as an "also-ran" to that material. They're actually preferable in some ways: less weight, easier installation and, due to both of those factors, less likelihood of damage during the installation process. Five stars all around for this tub!

Remodeling pro North Carolina 2011-03-19
Rating:
5

Nice bathtub, prefer over cast iron

I've used two of these tubs on remodeling jobs and they are a quality product. A definite improvement over cast iron. The light weight makes them easy to install. Be sure to inspect the finish very carefully [...] (in the proper light). If there is a flaw you need to find it when it [...], not after its installed!

RayJay Salem, MA 2013-07-18
Rating:
2

Rust problem around the overfill opening

I loved this tub for the first several years. HOWEVER, we now have a rusting issue around the bottom half of the overfill opening. American Standard has sent a repairman to our house twice in the past two years and he did a terrific job each time. So we thought. The rust is now back and AS is refusing to repair it a third time. While they have offered to replace the tub, or give us a full refund for the tub, I am stuck with the fact that the tub is surrounded by a very expensive custom marble installation that that would all have to be removed. Additionally, the tub is on the second floor and my whole house renovation included all new ceilings on the first floor. A hole in the kitchen would be necessary to complete the tub removal and installation. Cost is expected to be three times that of the cost of the tub. Looks like I may end up paying for the tub repair for myself once every 8-10 months.....forever.

bamboo bather. Salt Lake City, UT 2012-05-08
Rating:
5

Wonderbath without add-ons

It has higher overflow drain without expence of whirlpool. Not slippery. I have put in high-flow drain plug so that hair will not catch on. Never had any drainage problems and still drain fast as new ones.